top of page

Nappy Rash - How to clear and prevent it?

If your baby has sensitive skin it is probably going to have very sensitive nappy area. My baby had very sensitive nappy area. When she was only 10 days old we ended up in hospital because her rash was so bad, nearly bleeding bad! We had to try so many different cream until we found what works the best for her. From day 1, I was using only water and cotton wool and Pampers Premium nappies, but I guess frequent baby poo and wee was too much for her delicate skin. Within few days she developed slight rash, just some redness. I was continuously applying Sudocrem but it didn't help much! The rash was getting much worse. We then decided to change nappies. We switched from Pampers Premium to Pampers Pure. We saw improvement within hours, her rash was not getting worse, but it was still there.

Pampers Pure nappies contain no chlorine bleaching, no fragrances, no parabens and no latex. They also use premium cotton to be as mild to baby's skin, as possible.


When is comes to dealing with nappy rashes I could say that I'm an expert. My baby has very sensitive skin prone to rashes. Even though I was so careful, using the best and cleanest products, changing her nappy immediately she still developed rashes several times.


One of the best things you can do when your baby has a nappy rash is to air the affected area. Leave your baby nappy free for as long as possible. It might be messy since you never know when they will pee or poo, but hey that's the joy!


When dealing with a nappy rash it might take a while you to find out what works the best for you and your baby. Unfortunately, it is pretty much a matter of trial and error and trying different products. Your baby's rash might get worse, before it gets better.


While having the rash try to clean your baby's buttom with plain water and dry it by gently tapping it with a towel. Then apply the barrier cream of your choice and leave the baby nappy free for a while. Babies love being without the nappy!!


If you notice that your baby is prone to nappy rashes avoid using wipes, even the sensitive ones. For the first 3 months we had to use plain water and cotton wool with every nappy change. After approx. 3 months we slowly introduced Water Wipes, they are the only wipes that don't irritate her skin.

If your baby's rashes are reoccurring don't feel guilty, it is not your fault!! I remember how guilty I felt, everytime I saw my baby's skin being irritated. I felt like I was failing at being a mum and couldn't take care of my baby properly. Over time I realised that no matter what I do, she still has very sensitive skin that is so easily irritated. Now, her skin is much better and she haven't had a rash in a good while but I am really careful when it comes to her skin.


Preventing nappy rash


To prevent nappy rash I make sure to change her nappy regularly, even if it sometime doesn't seem very full. If I notice that her nappy is dirty, the nappy is charged as soon, as possible even if we are traveling. I only use Water Wipe and Pampers Pure nappies. After every change I apply barrier cream. every few days, I try to rotate different cream to make sure that her skin doesn't get used to only one cream. Everyday, I leave her without a nappy for a while to give her skin a chance to breathe and to aerate the nappy area.


Best Nappy Rash Creams:

1. Burt's Bees Baby Diaper Ointment - this is a brilliant cream for a bad nappy rash. The cream is fairly think and leaves a protective layer against the baby's skin. Burt's Bees diaper ointment contains Vitamin E and Zinc to create a protective barrier on your baby's skin to prevent urine and poo irritating baby's skin. Burt's Bees Diaper Ointment cleared my baby's nasty nappy rash without few uses. This nappy cream is little bit more expensive than other brands, but it's is worth it! It will last you very long because you only need to use very small amount, less than pea size amount.


Burt's bees diaper ointment contains almond oil and vitamin D to sooth and relieve painful, irritated nappy area.

Burt's Bees products are made from 100% organic and natural ingredients. Products are beeswax based to be as gentle, as possible


2. Weleda Baby Calendula Nappy Cream - Weleda Nappy Cream reduces redness and soothes baby's irritated skin. The cream uses calendula and organic chamomile to provide comfort to sensitive skin. The cream won Mother & Baby Magazine Gold Award and I'm not suprised.

I absolutely love Weleda Baby products. We are using Weleda's shampoo and lotion as well. Their products seem to work well with my little one's sensitive and dry skin.

3. Sudocrem - Sudocrem is an antiseptic healing cream used for nappy rashes and many other skin conditions (eczema, minor burns, wounds, etc.). I would say that Sudocrem is the most popular nappy cream that everybody seem to recommend straight away.It is very important to use Sudocrem as directed on the packaging. Sudocrem must be applied as a thin (see through) layer on baby's skin. Otherwise it may cause burns and irritate baby's skin even more. I learnt this the hard way. When my baby first got very bad nappy rash my first thought was Sudocrem and for some unknown reason I thought that more cream means quicker healing. That turned out to be soo not true. For a while baby's skin became more irritated and I stopped using Sudocrem. I altered the cream and started applying Burt's Bees Ointment which saved the day. Although Sudocrem made our nappy rash worse that time (probably due to my mistake), it helped us numerous other times when her bum was red. When applied correctly Sudocrem works like a charm.

4. Bepanthen Nappy Care Ointment - Bepanthen Nappy Cream is one of the popular nappy cream used. It's oily texture provides a protective barrier against baby's skin to protect it from any moisture.

Nappy rashes can be very frustrating but over time your baby's skin will become tougher. From around 3 months of age my baby stopped being prone to nappy rashes. I guess her skin toughened. Although she still has dry and sensitive skin, the rashes are gone! I am still being extremely careful with every nappy change and only use products for sensitive skin.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to care for baby's sensitive skin?

Newborns have very delicate and sensitive skin. Babies skin is more sensitive because it is approx 30% thinner than adults skin. This means that their skin had less layers and can be irritated easily.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page