top of page

Breastfeeding thrush - symptoms and treatment

While breastfeeding thrush/yeast infection is very common. Thrush appears on mother's nipples/breasts and baby's tongue and mouth. On the baby's tongue and mouth thrush will appear as a thick white layer that will not come off if you try to wipe it. Some white deposits on the tongue are normal, its just milk and it can be wiped off easily.

Thrush can appear at any point while breastfeeding. One of the first symptoms of thrush in women (nipples) will be the burning sensation of the nipple and throbbing pain in the breast that occurs during and after the feed. It feels like a shooting pain that goes deep into the breast tissue. Some women describe the pain as being excruciating.

Thrush most commonly appears after the usage of antibiotics. Antibiotics destroy not only bad bacteria but also the good bacteria. This promotes the growth of thrush (yeast) which is normally present on the skin surface.

Thrush (yeast) loves the warmth and moisture. When using breast pads, you have to ensure to replace them regularly. Wet breast pads promote the growth of yeast and you may develop thrush. Women prone to vaginal thrush will be more likely to develop thrush on their breasts. Thrush is easily transferred from the mother to the baby.

Sometimes thrush can be difficult to diagnose. Nipple pain may occur because of many different issues. If the nipple pain is very bad and you feel like dreading feeds, see a doctor. To treat thrush, you will need some prescribed cream. Even if your baby is not experiencing symptoms of thrush, the baby should be treated as well. Treatment of both mother and baby is essential to prevent reinfection. Treatment of thrush can be long, and it is very hard to get rid of thrush.

Diagnosis of thrush is very often misdiagnosed for bacterial infection of the nipple. Some doctors are claiming that the thrush can't spread into the breast, while others believe it can. Bacterial infection may spread into the breast and cause the thrush-like symptoms (deep throbbing pain). Bacterial infection will require a course of antibiotics. A bacterial infection usually starts from a bacteria entering the breast tissue through a crack on the nipple. Cracked nipples are very common at the start of breastfeeding.

There are many alternative/natural treatments for thrush

- rinse your nipples in distilled vinegar at least 4 times a day

- dissolve some baking powder (sodium bicarbonate) and apply on your nipples at least twice a day

- applying gentian violet twice a day

- applying the solution of grapefruit extract on your nipples at least twice a day

While receiving the treatment, you have to ensure that all pacifiers and bottles are properly sterilized. Either sterilise by steam or boil for at least 20 min. It is recommended to replace pacifiers and teats.

It is also very important to change your clothes and bras often (as soon, as you leak milk) and wash it at, at least 60 degrees. Hygiene is very important because yeast is easily transferred. Wash your hands often and thoroughly.

During the treatment, you should cut sugars out of your diet. Yeast feeds on sugars and diet rich in sugars will promote their growth. Taking probiotics will improve the treatment. Taking probiotics will provide your organisms with more "good bacteria".

If none of the above medication is successful in fighting yeast, you may have to take oral medication (tablet) for thrush. Diflucan is taken as a single dose and is very effective in the treatment of thrush.

Thrush in babies may be very painful, and the baby might refuse to eat. If your baby is refusing to eat, you should check it with your doctor. Within 2-3 days of treatment, the symptoms should improve and your baby should start eating as she did before.

Thrush in babies may also appear on their skin, in the nappy area. It appears as a red rash. However, the rash usually appears to be circular.

I was fighting thrush for approx. 3 months. Following delivery, I was prescribed antibiotics for 10 days. Immediately after the course of antibiotics, I noticed that my baby had thrush. My nipples were sore but I knew that some pain is normal. The pain was getting worse. It was almost unbearable (there were feeds where I was crying). I was prescribed a cream and the baby got a gel. I experienced some relief but the pain was still there. Baby's treatment didn't work either. Once prescribed medication failed, I decided to look into alternative and natural medicines. I started cleaning the baby's tongue with sodium bicarbonate twice a day. Within 3 days, her tongue was clear. I continued the treatment for another 5 days to prevent reinfection. Sodium bicarbonate did not work for me. I was still experiencing pain. I kept getting reinfected no matter what I did. I cut sugars and carbohydrates from my diet. I was taking probiotics, applying natural and prescribed medicines.

I visited my doctor again because I was on the verge of quitting breastfeeding. I couldn't bear the pain anymore. When the doctor examined me, she said: "I've never seen nipples cracked this much!!". She prescribed me 'All Purpose Nipple Ointment' this is a cream that contains an antibiotic, anti-fungal and a steroid. Antibiotics treat a bacterial infection, anti-fungal treats thrush and steroids to help healing and relieve some pain. I used this cream for 2 weeks and experienced majoor improvement. As soon as I finished the treatment within few days the excruciating pain was back. I went back to the doctor and requested the oral medication for thrush. That was my last resort. I made up my mind if the tablet doesn't work, I'm done breastfeeding. After 3 months of excruciating pain, I couldn't take it anymore. My doctor agreed and she prescribed me the tablet. I took the tablet while continuing the cream treatment. And finally, within 3 days, the symptoms were gone. Since then, I am breastfeeding pain-free. I wanted to share my story with thrush, to show how difficult it can be to get rid of it. You have to be patient and try different medication until you find what works for you. I hope you never get the thrush in the first place, but if you do, don't give up breastfeeding. Although painful, it can be treated.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page