top of page

Induced labour and epidural - My Experience.

Updated: Jan 4, 2020

Every labour story is different. Some are fast, some are extremely slow, some are 'not too bad', and some are so tough. The labour should come on its own, spontaneously, but it doesn't always happen, it didn't for me anyway. I was induced at 41+3 days. That Monday morning when I came to the hospital, I was still completely closed and the baby was very high up. My body was definitely not ready for birth, but it was time. I definitely didn't picture my labour going this way. I had this whole vision of me sitting at home, my water breaking and my partner panicking because he doesn't know what to do. As a first-time mum, I didn't know what kind of pain am I going to experience. I knew everything about all medication options as I knew that I want medicated childbirth. To be honest, I don't understand why women choose to have unmedicated delivery. The main reason why I decided to take an epidural was because I was in labour for over 12 hours with no progress. I knew that I needed some sleep, and the epidural gave me a chance to take "a break."

Delivery Day 1:

We arrived at the hospital at 8 am, I was examined and discussed the induction plan with my consultant. Following the discussion, we decided to start the labour with a vaginal tablet that was meant to soften the cervix and promote dilation. My doctor said to relax today and walk around as much as I can, but not to expect anything to happen that day. However, after only 4 hours of insertion of the tablet, I started experiencing some mild cramping but didn't pay too much attention to it. As time was passing the "cramps" started to be more often and more painful. Around 4 pm I was telling the nurse how I think that I am having contractions and her response was "That's highly unlikely, the tablet doesn't act that fast". The nurse left and I was still walking around, bouncing on my pilates ball and breathing heavily. Around 6 pm she came again and when she saw me and saw what contractions are like, she decided to give me an internal exam because it seemed to be the real deal! After the internal exam, we finally had progress. I was 0.5cm dilated!!! That was nothing but for me huge progress. I spent the whole night having contractions. They were 3-5min apart. During the night, they let me rest as much as possible. I did not get any sleep. Contractions were coming one after another. The pain was bearable but I was not able to sleep.

Around 2 am, my absolutely the most amazing midwife prepared me a lavender bath to relax for a while. At first, I was a bit hesitant but it was definitely the best decision I made that day!

Day 2:

The following morning doctors started going in for rounds. I was super excited and couldn't wait to have an internal exam (crazy I know) because I was so sure that they would tell me that I am at least 5cm dilated. The doctor came around 8 am, did the internal exam and upon my disappointment, I was only 2 cm dilated. They decided that it's time to break my water and they did so. My water broke and within 2 min, the real contractions started. The contractions that I had before that were not even painful, maybe a 2/10. This was a real deal! I was walking around and doing all of the breathing techniques that I was practising so much, rolling on my pilates ball, I was doing everything I knew but holly molly it hurts. It is hard to describe contraction pain with words. It just has to be experienced. If I had to describe it, I would say that it's like climbing a mountain. The pain starts and the pain is getting stronger and stronger and it reaches the highest peak (of pain) and then it eases away slowly but then another one comes.

11 am, the midwife is coming and saying how I was to be put on oxytocin (drip) to "speed up" the labour because I was progressing very slowly, actually not progressing at all. For nearly 12 hours of contractions, I managed to dilate to 2 cm. At that point, I was offered an epidural and I accepted it. I was absolutely exhausted and I knew that I need something to catch a break. I knew that once I'm connected to the drip, the contraction will be relatively unbearable.

The anesthesiologist came around noon, explained me all risks and side effects of epidural. To be honest, I did not hear a word. I just mumbled give me the epidural. One of the reasons why everybody is hesitant when it comes to an epidural is the big needle. Honestly, I did not even feel when the epidural catheter was inserted. While having contraction everything else is a piece of cake. I clearly remember while having a contraction, I was not able to concentrate on anything. Once the contraction and the pain started, it was just me and the pain. Me pushing through the pain and it slowly letting go. I got the epidural and it started working within minutes, but it was only working on my right side. I could still feel absolutely everything on my left side. The anesthesiologist came back and reinserted the catheter and this time the epidural worked like a charm. I did not feel a thing!

1 pm my midwife is coming in with the bag of oxytocin drip and she connected it to my IV. From the moment I got an epidural, I did not feel any pain. It's amazing how all the pain was just gone. The midwife said how she is expecting me to deliver the baby by 8 pm. She arrived at 3.54 pm. Once the oxytocin drip started, things started moving very quickly. I managed to take a nap which helped me soo much. The atmosphere in the delivery room was absolutely amazing; I truly enjoyed every minute of it. Around 3.30 pm I was telling the midwife how I feel that something is going on "down there". She just said, "Oh, that's great you must be dilating". I asked her to do an internal exam because my guts were telling me that its something more that just me dilating. She agreed to do the exam. During the whole delivery I was laying on my right side, so she said to lift the leg and she will examine me. As I lifted my leg, she said: "Do not move!!". I was like Why?? What's going on? Is everything ok? Like any first time mum within a second, I had 100 scenarios in my head. Her response was "the baby's head is halfway out, this baby is coming out now!". She quickly called another nurse and got all the equipment needed for delivery and told me to push. After only 3 pushes my 9 Ibs baby was out, @3.54 pm. That moment of relief once the baby is out is unbelievable and the moment you see your baby is just precious. It just can't be compared to anything else! Love at first sight!

I put my baby on my chest as I wanted to do skin to skin contact for as long as possible. The less fun part starts after delivery, I had a very bad tear from dilating too fast and the baby being very big. I had a second to third-degree tear. Very excessive bleeding due to the tear but it was all handled by my brilliant doctor. They had me all stitched up and by 6 pm I was in my room, snuggling with my baby!


That day was definitely the hardest and most beautiful day of my life!


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page